ESCAP/WMO Typhoon Committee Fifty-fifth Session of Typhoon Committee 7 to 9 March 2023 Video Conference Macao, China FOR PARTICIPANTS ONLY WRD/TC.55/10 7 February 2023 ENGLISH ONLY

# Appointment of the next TC Secretary (2023-2026/early 2027)

(Submitted by TCS)

#### **ACTION REQUIRED:**

The Committee is invited:

a) To appoint of the next TC Secretary (2023-2026/early 2027)

#### **APPENDIXES**:

- 1) DRAFT TEXT FOR INCLUSION AT SESSION REPORT
- 2) The next TC Secretary (2023-2026/early 2027)

## **APPENDIX A:**

# DRAFT TEXT FOR INCLUSION IN THE SESSION REPORT

- Appointment of the next TC Secretary (2023-2026/early 2027)
- 10.1 The Committee took note the Long-Term Mechanism for TC Secretary Appointment.
- The Committee appoint Dr. XXX as the Secretary of Typhoon Committee (2023-2026/early 2027).

(Additional text to be added in the light of discussion on this item)

### **APPENDIX B:**

# The next TC Secretary (2023-2026/early 2027)

## 1. Background

The Committee approved the Long-Term Mechanism for TC Secretary Appointment in its 49th session held in Yokohama, Japan, from 21 to 24 February 2017.

Mr. YU Jixin was reappointed by the Typhoon Committee in its 51st Session held in Guangzhou, China from 26 February to 1st March 2019, as Secretary of this Committee for the period 2019-2022/early 2023. His term as the Secretary of the Committee will be ended at the 55th session of the Committee which will be held via Video Conference by Macao, China, March 2023.

- **2.** According to the Long-Term Mechanism for TC Secretary Appointment, TCS circulated the letter to Members for nomination of the Secretary of Typhoon Committee on 24 January 2022. TCS had received two candidates Dr. DUAN Yihong from China and Dr. Eun Jeong CHA from Korea.
- 3. As the 55th session of the Committee will be held via Video Conference, the Committee initiated the voting by correspondence after the coordination of AWG and the approval of the Chairperson of the Committee. The result is ......